Welcome to the Medical Physics Department

The Department of Medical Physics includes the Regional Radiation Protection Service, Nuclear Medicine, Radiotherapy Physics, Scientific Computing, Technical Services and the National Co-ordinating Centre for the Physics of Mammography, run on behalf of Public Health England. A number of these services have relevant externally assessed Quality Management Systems. The Department also provides expert medical physics services to over 300 external NHS and private healthcare providers across the UK, Ireland and Gibraltar and the sale of radiopharmaceuticals to surrounding nuclear medicine departments.


St Luke's Cancer Centre Picture
St Luke’s Cancer Centre


The Department comprises just over 100 staff including clinical scientists, computer scientists, clinical technologists, therapeutic radiographers, administrative and clerical staff.


The Department is also research active holding a number of research grants and maintaining a significant research output in terms of publications and presentations at major national and international conferences.