Head of Medical Physics

Title: Head of Medical Physics
Email: andrew.nisbet@nhs.net
Phone: +44 (0)1483 464888
Section: Medical Physics

Professor Nisbet holds a joint post between the Royal Surrey County Hospital NHS Foundation Trust and Surrey University, where he is Head of the Medical Physics Department and Honorary Professor of Medical Physics respectively. In his current hospital role he provides management and scientific leadership to over 100 staff within the Department of Medical Physics incorporating a regional radiation protection service, nuclear medicine and radiopharmacy, radiotherapy physics, scientific computing, technical services and the National Co-ordinating Centre for the Physics of Mammography, run on behalf of Public Health England. He is also the Trust’s Lead HealthCare Scientist and has recently obtained a further joint role with the National Physical Laboratory.

Within his role at Surrey University he has supervised 20 PhD, 4 MD and numerous MSc postgraduate students and held research grants totalling over £6m from a number of funding bodies, including the NIHR, CR UK and the EU (https://www.surrey.ac.uk/people/andrew-nisbet)

He is currently a member of the Chief Scientific Officer’s Leadership Improvement and Advice Group (https://www.england.nhs.uk/healthcare-science/cso-programmes/) and is a Senior Editor with the British Journal of Radiology and Associate Editor with Physica Medica. He has published over 100 papers in peer reviewed journals. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine and is a past recipient of the British Institute of Radiology “Nic McNally Memorial Prize” and the Institute of Physics & Engineering in Medicine “Founders Prize” and “Spiers Prize”.